Register Now for APATX18!                                                                                    

Follow Us

Midwest Section Texas APA is located in North Texas and includes the following counties: Archer, Bosque, Brown, Clay, Coleman, Comanche, Cooke, Denton, Eastland, Erath, Hamilton, Hill, Hood, Jack, Johnson, Mills, Montague, Palo Pinto, Parker, Somervell, Stephens, Tarrant, Wichita, Wise, and Young.


View Past Officers (1990-2015)

Tamara Cook, AICP
North Central Texas Council of Governments
(817) 695-9221

Director Elect
Abra Nusser, AICP
Ideation Planning, LLC
(972) 339-8186


Travis Liska 
North Central Texas Council of Governments
(817) 704-2512

  Past Director
Jeff Whitacre, P.E., AICP
Kimley Horn & Associates
(817) 339-2254
Jenifer Reiner, AICP, CNU-A
Dunaway Associates
(817) 335-1121
Communications Coordinator 
Eleana Tuley
Kirkman Engineering
(817) 488-4960

Student Representative
Kelsey Poole
University of Texas at Arlington 

Professional Development Officer
Jennifer Crosby, AICP
City of Southlake
(682) 365-2117

EPL Representative
Danielle Stellrecht
North Central Texas Council of Governments




Contact the chair if you are interested in serving on a committee.

Awards Committee | Chair: Travis Liska

Programs Committee | Chair: Jackie Reyff, AICP



Sign up to receive the Section Newsletters here: Add Me!



All section members are welcome to attend the Midwest Officer Board Meetings. All future board meetings will be posted below.

Tuesday, June 19, 2018 | 12:30 P.M. - 1:30 PM

Conference Call - 817-953-6828



Resilient Series: Planning for Flood Resilient Region Part 2: What Happens after the Storm?  (July 25, 2018)

View Event Details and Registration

3rd Annual Midwest Scholarship Fundraiser (June 28, 2018)

View Event Details and Registration

View Event Flyer and Sponsorship Opportunities

25th Annual North Texas Elected and Appointed Officials Planning Workshop (Thursday, August 9th & Friday, August 10th)

View Event Details and Registration


We greatly appreciate the companies that have sponsored our annual fundraising event Driving Our Cities to the Green. This year we will hold our annual fundraiser at TopGolf in Fort Worth, and all proceeds collected from the event will go towards the student scholarship fund that is awarded every year at the Midwest Annual Awards Banquet. To date the funds raised from the Annual Midwest Scholarship Fundraiser have provided five student scholarships. All award recipients are still in the planning profession and making a positive impact to our community.

If you or anyone you know is interested in making a contribution click here to view sponsorship opportunities and visit our event page to submit your donation. Please contact Eleana Tuley ( or Tamara Cook ( with any questions. 


Past events:

Resilient Series: Planning for Flood Resilient Communities  (June 13, 2018)

View Event Details and Registration

View Presentation

24th Annual Elected and Appointed Officials Training (July 14, 2017)

Presentations available below:

Work Shop Introduction

Planning Basics

Ethics Training

Mock Development Review

ULI Presentation


Video links below:

Planning Basics

Part 1

Part 2

Ethics Training 

Upcoming Events:

Click here for latest newsletter with upcoming events!



Midwest Section Bylaws (PDF)



2017-19 Board Meetings:

November 7/20, 2017 Agenda  Minutes

January 17, 2018 Agenda  Minutes

March 13, 2018 Agenda  Minutes

April 9, 2018 Agenda   Minutes

May 15, 2018 Agenda  Minutes

June 19, 2018 Agenda  Minutes




The Midwest Section established an annual awards program in 1992 to recognize students, individuals, and projects that have made a significant contribution to planning.

For a comprehensive list of all award winners, please see link below.

Midwest Section Award Winners (1992-2015)

2014 Annual Midwest Section Awards Banquet Award Winners and Banquet Photos

2015 Annual Midwest Section Awards Banquet Award Winners and Banquet Photos  

2016 Annual Midwest Section Awards Winners

2017 Annual Midwest Section Keynote Presentation 


The scholarship is provided to promote planning within the Midwest Section of the Texas APA Chapter by providing partial funding to students enrolled in a university located in the Midwest Section. Scholarships are awarded at the annual banquet in January each year.

2017 Application available here -  Student Scholarship Application!



Midwest_Texas_Linked-In.jpgMidwest Texas Facebook.jpg
Follow and "Like" the Midwest Section on Facebook and Linked-In for announcements and updates and info on upcoming events!