Follow Us


Planning & Zoning Workshop  Impact of New Legislation

Oct. 29, 2019

1501 W Henderson Street
Cleburne, TX


Johnson County Economic Development Commission, in association with the Texas Chapter of the American Planning Association


Planning & Zoning Workshop

Impact of New Legislation



A review of Planning and Development procedures in Texas and the impacts of the 85th Texas Legislature and their newly adopted legislation (effective September 1) on Planning, Zoning, Platting, and Development approval processes

For City and County Officials (elected, staff, volunteers), Council, Commissioners, Boards of Adjustment, Attorneys, Managers, Planners, Department Heads, City Secretaries, Clerks, Building Officials, city consultants or anyone else involved in the planning/development of cities


8:30 to 9:00 - Registration

9:00 to 10:00 - Introduction to Planning - Dave Gattis, FAIPC

10:00 to 10:30 - Annexation and HB 347/SB 2 – Kim Mickelson, AICP, JD and Craig Farmer, FAICP

10:30 to 10:45 - Break and refreshments

10:45 to 12:00 - Zoning and HB 2439 (Building Materials/Masonry pre-emption) etc.- Craig Farmer and Kim Mickelson

12:00 to 1:00 - Lunch Break, small group identification, prioritization and discussion of issues

1:00 to 2:00 - Platting, Vesting, Completeness, Rough Proportionality, HB 3167 (30-day approval “shot clock)” etc. - Kim Mickelson and Craig Farmer

2:00 to 2:15 - Running meetings, Agendas and Testimony in light of HB 2840, “Right to Speak”

2:15 to 2:35 - Signs, Supreme Court Case, Sexually Oriented Businesses, Freedom of speech - Dave Gattis and Kim Mickelson

2:35 to 2:45 – Economic Development and recent changes to Tax Abatement, Ch 380 grants, etc.

2:45 to 3:15 - Review and discussion of issues identified by lunch small groups

Registration – The registration fee is $50 for the one-day workshop.  To Register go to the   Johnson Co. EDC Planning & Zoning Workshop for City Officials through the Texas Chapter of the American Planning Association.  Registration is limited so sign up now!


Craig Farmer, FAICP - TXAPA - Advocacy Network Liaison,

is president of Municipal Planning Services, LLC consulting with numerous cities in Texas.  Previously, he managed planning, public works, engineering, storm water, building inspection and transportation departments in the cities of Lubbock, Carrollton, Grand Prairie, McAllen and Weatherford.  He also has worked as a consultant with the firms of Freese and Nichols, Inc., Dunkin-Sefko, LLC, Mitchell Planning Group, LLC and City Hall Essentials, LLC.  He’s a Fellow in the College of the American Institute of Certified Planners, served on the National Board of Directors of the American Planning Association (APA) and the Board of Directors of the Texas Municipal League. Eighteen of his projects won Texas Planning awards including comprehensive plans, downtown plans, zoning and subdivision ordinances, and redevelopment projects.  Economic development experience includes nine Tax Increment Reinvestment Zones, eight Public Improvement Districts, and significant involvement in Lone Star Horse Racing Park and the Verizon Performing Arts Theatre in Grand Prairie and the $500+ million Overton redevelopment project adjacent to Texas Tech University.  Craig holds a Bachelors-of-Business Administration from The University of Texas and a Masters-of-Urban and Regional Planning from Texas A&M University.

Kim Mickelson, JD, AICP – Attorney and Planner, is a TXAPA Past President and was recently elected as a national American Institute of Certified Planners Commission Member.  She is currently a City of Houston Development Attorney and is recognized as one of the most important leaders in Texas land use law.  Kim also practices law in the areas of historic preservation, economic development, airport zoning, special districts, cemeteries, and non-profit corporations.  She has represented cities across Texas from El Paso to Galveston on ordinance drafting and various land use matters.  She drafted ground-breaking regulations for the City of Houston airport zoning, for flood management following Hurricane Harvey, for Morgan’s Point wetlands mitigation, and secured state historical recognition and local assistance for Olivewood Cemetery, Houston’s oldest African American cemetery. Ms. Mickelson is a graduate of the University of Texas, as well as The University of Texas School of Law and the Lyndon B. Johnson School of Public Affairs. She studied municipal and historic preservation practices in Krakow, Poland, and has also studied in Germany and the former Yugoslavia. She is a member of the Texas Bar Association, the Chicago Bar Association, the Texas City Attorney’s Association, the American Planning Association (Texas and Illinois chapters), and the American Institute of Certified Planners. She is the Government Relations Chair of the Texas APA Chapter, and the Editor of Texas APA’s book, A Guide to Urban Planning in Texas Communities. She is a member of the Advisory Board for Preservation Texas, and an active member of Preservation Chicago and the Association for Graveyard Studies. son is


David Gattis, FAICP, CFM (ret), ICMA-CM (ret) is a city planning and management consultant and has worked in many cities throughout Texas.  Mr. Gattis retired as Deputy City Manager for the City of Benbrook, a suburban community of 22,000 in 2016, where he authored the Benbrook Comprehensive Plan, winning the best Comprehensive Plan by the Texas Chapter of the American Planning Association (TXAPA) in 1991.  He is a Fellow in the American Institute of Certified Planners and served as Chair of the national APA Divisions Council, Chair of both the Small Town and Rural Planning Division and the Environmental Planning Division of APA.  He was President of TXAPA and served on the Texas Municipal League Board of Directors and was elected a Life Member of the Texas City Management Association in 2018.  Mr. Gattis is a Fellow and Past President of the Texas Academy of Science.  Prior to working for Benbrook in 1988, Mr. Gattis served on Benbrook’s Home Rule Charter Commission, and served on Benbrook’s Planning and Zoning Commission for five years, the last four of which as Chairman.  He has served the North Central Texas Council of Governments as Chair of numerous committees.  He has degrees from both Texas Christian University where he is a member of the Board of Advisors for the John V. Roach Honors College at Texas Christian University and from the University of Texas at Arlington, including doctoral studies in Urban and Public Administration.  He was named Distinguished Alumnus of UTA’s School of Urban and Public Affairs in 2001. 

Date and Time

Tue, Oct. 29, 2019

8:30 a.m. - 3:30 p.m.
(GMT-0500) US/Central


1501 W Henderson Street
Cleburne, TX


View Larger Map

1501 W Henderson Street
Cleburne, TX