page header
Planning Excellence Recognition Program: 2016

The Texas Chapter of the American Planning Association continues it’s program of recognizing planning excellence in municipalities throughout the State.  Evaluation criteria include the level of training of Planning Commissioners and professional staff, professional qualifications of the planning staff, breadth and currency of master plan components and completion of other planning related projects. The goals of the program include:

  • Increasing community awareness of the importance of planning,

  • Recognizing planning departments which meet certain professional requirements,

  • Recognizing planning efforts that have achieved community support,

  • Encouraging the funding of professional training for Planning Commissioners and staff, and

  • Aiding economic development and community image.

2016-2017 Recognized Cities

City of Amarillo
City of Benbrook
City of Bryan
City of Buda
City of Cedar Park
City of Celina
City of College Station    
Town of Fairview
City of Fort Worth
City of Frisco
City of Garland
City of Georgetown            

City of Irving
City of Keller
City of Leander
City of Lewisville
Town of Little Elm
City of Mansfield
City of McKinney
City of North Richland Hills
City of Pearland
City of Pflugerville
City of Plano
City of Richardson

City of Round Rock
City of Rowlett
City of Sachse
City of San Angelo
City of Schertz
City of Southlake
City of South Padre Island
City of Sugar Land
City of Tomball
City of Tyler
City of Victoria
City of Watauga     



The completed application form (see below) with attachments and $50.00 fee must be submitted to Mike McAnelly, Executive Administrator – APA Texas Chapter, 9629 Fallbrook Drive, Dallas, Texas 75243.The deadline has passed for the 2016 Planning Excellence Recognition Program. Please check back in 2017!